Getting on Track with a Training Plan

Since I really started running again, I haven’t had a plan of attack. I just do it. I found that this approach worked, but now that I have my motivation again, I need a plan. Originally, I felt that if I put myself on a quota of miles or forced myself to do something I wasn’t ready for, I would never find my love for running again.

I ran completely off feeling, which is a great thing to do in my opinion because you’re just letting something be. Letting it happen. You’re just running. Not slow. Not fast. There’s no clock to judge you. You’re just running. As I got stronger, I started to push myself to go farther. I’m at the point where I feel comfortable enough with myself to get out the door. My hunger is there. I’m just overwhelmed and all over the place. My issue is figuring out a running plan and organizing myself. I still believe it’s good to just run some days, but balance is always great if you’re trying to hit times. Otherwise, I get lost. It seems like such a simple thing –a plan– But I honestly do not know running as well as I thought I did. I mean structurally. I need a plan so I don’t fall off the wagon without realizing it.

Run happy
Just run!

Without a race to look forward to, I  get lost in my weeks and I have no idea what I just did or if I did enough or If I push things off and then all of a sudden it’s Friday and I have a lot makin’ up to do. Like, seriously I know it was only three days ago, but I’m not sure if I ran 6 miles Thursday or Friday and if I went the full six because I felt bad, or was that Monday? There is so much going on, I’m scatterbrained. My goal right now is to work on my half marathon time. I have never trained for a half in my life.

My next half marathon is in January. I may do one again before that, but I haven’t decided. I definitely need to do some races in the mean time to keep me in check. This past week, I wasn’t feeling too hot, so I opted to take a couple of days off. I just got a new foam roller, so I pretty excited about that!

I have a strong past background with training and running, but I never realized how difficult it is to decide how much mileage I should be doing, what workouts I should be doing and when I should be racing. Oh, and have a social life and a full time job and possibly go back to school. I need to start emulating Beyonce. I have to give my college coach mad props for figuring that all out for about 40 athletes plus. I can barely figure it out for myself. Yet, every excuse is an obstacle that is either overcome or made. My end goal is to have running and mostly training a subconscious habit I make daily/weekly.

I have researched a few running plans, that I will give a shot. Hal Higdon and Cool Running have been my top choices to follow. I think I need to let go of the past a bit more, because I was so used to training a certain way and I keep wanting to jump back there. But, I need a fresh start.

Here is the plan I decided to pick up:

Cool Running Advanced Half Marathon Plan
Cool Running Advanced Half Marathon Training Plan. I want to break 1:30 in Jan.

I have always ran as part of a team and doing this whole thing mostly solo is somewhat overwhelming at times. Organizing myself is a big mental game. So, I’m working on having a goal to work toward. I realized that once I hadn’t any races coming up, I didn’t focus on my running as in depth. It’s interesting, during this process of “relearning” running, I’m learning quite a bit about myself. It’s a daily challenge I have to be extremely conscientious about.

Training and Obstacles
Each obstacle shouldn’t set you bet, but a learning experience to better understand yourself.

Next weeks goals:

  1. Create a steady running plan
  2. Get a running journal to track my training
  3. Stay consistent

Upcoming races:

  1. Ursula Rains Balboa Boogie 5K at Morley Field: October 3 (Haven’t decided on this one)
  2. Cougar Challenge Women’s 5K/Men’s 8K at CSU San Marcos Track: October 18

What training plans are you following?

Any tips on organizing training and not being all over the place? 

 

8 thoughts on “Getting on Track with a Training Plan

  1. I’ve never run as part of a team in high school or college, so I guess I’m just used to it being a solo sport. And it’s never occurred to me how different it must be to go from someone planning your running schedule to being on your own. I’m currently not able to run because my IT band hates me, but I usually have a pretty unstructured running schedule (just trying to run 3 days per week), unless I’m training for a race (then I usually look online for examples of plans). Even though you may be struggling, it sounds like you’re motivated and taking charge of it! I’ve heard only great things about Hal Higdon’s plans, so I hope it helps you get back on track! (pun intended, bahaha)

    Like

    1. I am the same. I’ll go from 3-4 times a week to 6-7 times a week. I have no balance and the more I read about it, I ‘m not alone on that one. It just makes me feel so guilty. I’m not sure why, but it just does. Like I’m not good enough. But changing your habits on your own accord is a lot more time consuming than I thought. I just have to remind myself it’s OK, and to get a plan, even it’s unlike what I’ve done before. I think having a plan and writing it down in a journal should help. Hopefully it eventually becomes second nature again 🙂

      Like

  2. I actually need to work on being more organized myself! I’m not a runner, but when it comes to working out, I tend to be all over the place with little structure. I think doing things at the same time on the same days definitely helps. I gotta get me a fitness journal! lol

    Like

  3. Excel sheets if you’re feeling tech savvy work well Stephanie. You can use one tab for a plan, one for what you actually do, and one for comments.

    And I’m sure Thomas or myself or any one of about 100 people with coaching experience you know would be happy to scrap together a plan for you 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m not so sure I know how to use Excel properly lol but I think writing it out will definitely help (I’m old school). Haha I never actually thought about that, that’s a good idea. If you know any Half Marathon training ideas, I’d be down to take any advice 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

