12 Week Training Program for Carlsbad Half Marathon and Workout Recap

Last week was the first week of my training for the Carlsbad Half. Awhile back, I was looking up various training programs in order to keep myself on track with my training. When I ran the AFC Half Marathon in August, my training consisted of running whenever and however far I felt like going. It actually worked out pretty well, since I had really no expectation of my capabilities at the time.  Running that race fueled the fire within me again to seriously take up running, while still  having fun with it. I gave up running the Summer of 2012 essentially because I just put too much pressure on myself and I never felt I was good enough. I realized at the beginning of this year, it’s not about being “good enough,” it’s about doing something because it enhances your already happy self. Once I learned to love myself, I learned to love running again.

Dr. Christiane Northrup Pleasure Affimration
Take pleasure in all that you do! I love to run, it gives me solace and I am so excited to train for the Carlsbad Half.

That being said, I am determined to race the Carlsbad Half to the best of my ability and all my heart. I wanted a 12-week training guide to keep me in check, so I know at least that if I put in the “proper” training, I can at least know I tried my best. Either way, it’s all about having fun. In a past blog I mentioned a couple of training schedules I was looking at. I decided to go with The Cool Running Advanced Half Marathon Training Guide. So far it started off well! Week one is in the bag and week 2 is already off on a good foot. I’m excited to see how the rest plays out. I’m just taking it day by day and letting each run be a choice I want to make. My body always seems to fall in line when my mind affirms.

Week 1 of Cbad Half Training:

Monday October 26: 3.3 miles easy with Nic

Tuesday October 27: 6.2 miles of Fartlek running. Equals: 1 mile warm up 4 miles of 30 second to 3 minute variations at 5k-10k pace. I’m not sure on the order, but I just kept it varied with 1 minute of rest in between. 1 mile cool down to make it 6 miles total.

Garmin Fartlek Workout
Fartlek workout for a total of 6 miles. I started writing down my training in a journal to also keep me in check.

Wednesday October 28: 4 mile progression run. 7:45, 7:21, 7:17, 7:02. I felt lethargic, but good. I probably should have just taken it easier after a workout, but when I listen to music, I tend to accidentally push myself to hard.

Thursday October 29: 6 miles easy. Maintained a good 8 minute pace.

Beach running
Just a nice lovely afternoon beach run!

Friday October 30: 1 hour boot camp class at Yoga Six with Lanai. (I am still sore from this, such a good workout!) and then an easy 4 miles afterward. My muscles were worked today!

Saturday October 31: 10 miles. I switched my long from Sunday to Saturday because it was Halloween and let’s face it, I’m more liking to run 3 miles over 10 miles after being in Downtown SD all night. I was super sore on this run, like when I hit 10 miles I was like “nope, don’t wan to go any further.” I died the last two miles, but still felt good the first 8.

San Diego Zombie Crawl 2015
Have I mentioned that I love Halloween? I know it’s not a running pic, but this is way cooooooler.

Sunday November 1: 3 easy miles with Nic. I actually felt pretty good on this run. I wasn’t as hungover as I thought. After this weekend I am going to try to make it a point to stay dry unless it’s a wedding celebration.

Are you training for anything? 

How was your last week of workouts?

Leave a Reply

