No Laptop, New Job, Workout Updates

As you can see from the title, I no longer have a personal laptop. The laptop I was using before was my prior company’s. I had to give it back, obviously, upon landing a new job. This is the reason I have been short of posting. My boyfriend does have a laptop I can use, but again, it’s not mine. I would never pry him from using it. I get home from work at 6 pm now, so you know he already is streaming the football games. Plus, we stream a lot of our shows from there. I’m working on getting another one, but with the holidays coming up, my budget is tight. Especially because I took a week off in-between jobs, which was so great. I got to reflect, recoup, relax and prepare. Now that I’m transitioned, I’ll be back to regular posts on running, health and recipes. I know I’ve been all over the place, as I’m sure the writing of this post reads.

Hay House Calendar
My motivation calendar from Hay House author Wayne Dyer. Positive thoughts all day long 🙂 Obviously I follow a workout schedule, but you must run because it makes you happy, not because you’re forcing yourself to be, look or follow something strictly. Success comes from within.

Anywho, I am excited I got a new job! I am grateful for the doors my last job opened up for me, but it wasn’t something that I wanted to do for the rest of my life. I worked with SEO and real estate previously. Let me tell you, that is just not my thing. I learned a lot from my boss and coworkers, but the industry is not my gig. I currently landed a job with Hay House, Inc. This is a book publishing company (Ah, books! I love books and have always wanted to work with a publishing company) that features authors in the holistic health and wellness industry. This is right up my ally. Positive affirmations alllllll day long, sign me up. I’m the marketing copywriter there, and I’m liking it a lot. There are many great perks and the people are so nice.

Hay House Publishing
See all the books I get to work with and I get my own cubicle. Check out this new Marketing Copywriter

With the new job, I only have a 20-minute commute to work. I don’t know about you guys, but I have been commuting ever since I got a “career” job. I would commute 45 minutes to 1.5 hours depending on traffic. Talk about a time waster. Now, I have time to take an hour lunch and run in the middle of the day. I don’t have to worry about staying later because my ride home isn’t dictated on traffic. I’ve been on par with my workouts for the first two weeks of my training even with the time change. It’s great knowing I can run in the middle of the day to avoid the darkness (darn time change). There are even showers at my workplace, so I don’t have to worry about smelling the rest of the day! Life is good!

Hay House Life Loves You
I’m stretching in my cubicle at work. I have my own space, so people can’t really see me lol

Recap on the last couple of weeks:

Week 2 Carlsbad Half Marathon Training:

Monday, Nov 2: an easy 3 miles

Tuesday, Nov 3: Fartlek: 1 mi warm up. 30 sec, 1 min, 2 min, 3 min, 3 min, 2 min 1 min, 30 sec, 3 min, 2 min, 1 min, with 1 min rest in between (2 min rest in between the two 3 min) 1 mi cool down for 6 miles total.

Wednesday, Nov 4: 4 miles

Thursday, Nov 5: 7 miles

Friday, Nov 6: 4 miles

Saturday, Nov 7: 3 miles easy run with Nic.

Sunday, Nov 8: 10 miles. I felt so awesome on this run. I debated going for a good 30 minutes. I kept thinking I’ll do it later, but with football, I knew that wouldn’t happen. I got my butt out the door, told myself to start out slower and inched my way down to an 7:08 last mile. I felt good when I got back home. I needed this run. I am in good spirits.

Total: 38 miles

Week 3 Cbad Half Training:

Monday, Nov 9: an easy 3 miles

Tuesday, Nov 10: 2 mi warm up, 6-7 hill repeats, 2 mi cool down. Felt strong each hill. Tough workout but made it through! 6 miles total

Wednesday, Nov 11: 4 miles

Thursday, Nov 12: 7 miles

Friday, Nov 13: 1-hour boot camp and an easy 4.8 miles at 9:19 pace with Nic’s mom.

Saturday, Nov 14: 2015 SDXC Championships 6k at East Mission Bay Park. (Recap coming soon) 7.8 miles total. Good race; my speed is definitely picking up.

Sunday, Nov 15: 12 miles. I was dreading this because  apparently I think long runs are going to suck, but once I got out there, I was flying. It was super windy and I felt like I was being tossed side-to-side like a rag doll, but it made me push harder. I felt good. Ran 7:37 pace overall

Total: 45  miles

I’m working on getting some computer access or buying my own. You can expect Friday’s to be my regular posting days because I have them off (all the time!).

How are your workouts going this week? 

Anyone else dealing with life changes? 

2 thoughts on “No Laptop, New Job, Workout Updates

  1. Totally jealous of showers at your work. I would LOVE to be able to run in the middle of the work day but it isn’t an option, which is unfortunate — we have such gorgeous trails near work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

