Week 9 Carlsbad Half Marathon Training

Carlsbad Half Training Week 9
“But when work is infused with joy, it changes everything about the attitude behind the effort. The resistance is removed. Things flow rather than push.” -Kristin Armstrong

Monday, Dec 21: 5.2 miles easy.

Tuesday, Dec. 22: Rest day. My work holiday party was today at 12 pm. Since I ended up enjoying a couple glasses of wine with co-workers and there were roaring winds and rain outside, I decided there was no reason I couldn’t double during the week. I was strong enough to run twice in one day.

Wednesday, Dec. 23: 10 miles in the morning and 4 miles in the afternoon with Nic. The 4 miles was at a very easy pace. Because I was running twice in one day, I didn’t want to push it.

Thursday, Dec. 24: 9 miles total. 2 mile warm up, 10 x 1/2 mile repeats with 2 minutes of rest in between and 2 mile cool down. repeats: 3:07, 3:00, 3:08, 2:57, 3:15(up hill), 2:52, 3:07, 2:49, 3:00, 2:47.

I can’t download workout’s to my watch still, so I just used the interval feature in the Garmin. Unfortunately, you can’t see what pace you’re going, just what interval your on and how much farther you have to go. I was doing this completely by feel. At first I felt like I was going slow, but I just listened to by body and went for it. Although, there is a bit bouncing back and forth, these splits turned out awesome for me. I think it went really well for how tired I felt during the warm up. I almost convinced myself to to do less or just an aerobic run during the 2 mile warm up, but I didn’t want to give up and look how it turned out. It’s amazing what you can do if you just believe in yourself. I think I doubt myself to often and I need to work on it because obviously my body believes in me more than my brain does occasionally.

Friday, Dec. 25: 6.1 miles. Merry Christmas!

Saturday, Dec. 26: 8.2 miles

Sunday, Dec. 27: 15.2 miles @ 7:10 pace. This is my longest run in 2015. I haven’t ran this far in years and it felt great. I couldn’t believe how easy the pace felt. The whole time I kept thinking to myself, “I hope I don’t die. I hope I don’t die.” The last time I attempted 15 miles under 7:30 pace I stopped at 12 and called Nic to pick me up. I tried too much, too soon. This felt great because I worked myself up to. It was definitely a confident booster and a reassurance that my hard work is starting to pay off.

58 miles total

I’m pretty sure this is my highest mileage week during the holidays ever! I am so proud of myself in the fact that I made no excuses not to get my runs in. Not even a holiday party. The excuses have left the building and I’m learning to trust my instincts. Running is something that I love to do, so why not give it the time of day. I’m so excited that I’m hitting the last three weeks before the the Carlsbad Half and so far, it’s going pretty well.

One thought on “Week 9 Carlsbad Half Marathon Training

Leave a Reply

