Stephanie’s Back, Back Again…

OK, so I know I have basically fallen off the face of the earth since December, but I promise I have been running. I even did the Carlsbad Half Marathon. Ha Ha. I mean if it’s not on the blog, did it even happen? I’ve had my personal computer for about a month now too, so basically I’ve just failed to write again. As out of date this news will be, I am going to pick up where I left off at Week 10 of my Carlsbad Half Training. Don’t worry, it’ll just be the quick version of it since It’s now middle of February and this happened more than a month ago.

Week 10 Carlsbad Half Marathon Training

Monday, Dec. 28: 5 miles @ 8 min pace – feeling slightly tired, but no pain.

Tuesday, Dec. 29: Rest Day – Feeling exhausted, so I decided to just relax.

Wednesday, Dec. 30: 8 miles @ 7:30 pace – Felt odd on this run. I just felt out of shape and I couldn’t find a rhythm.

Thursday, Dec. 31: 6 miles in Portland! We landed in Portland, OR for our New Year’s vacation. We couldn’t check in yet, so I ended up running in the dark later. It was sooooo cold!

Friday, Jan. 1: Rest Day

Saturday, Jan. 2: Rest Day

Sunday, Jan. 3: Rest Day

Total: 19 miles

So I ended up taking a few more days off then I intended, but we were on vacation and ended up doing so much more. I just didn’t find the time to get in a run, especially on the days it snowed. I don’t regret it looking back, but hopefully in the future I can be bit more diligent.

Running in Portland
I ran 219 miles in December. This is how cold it was running in Portland!

Week 11 Training:ย 

Monday, Jan. 4: Rest Day

Tuesday, Jan. 5: Rest Day – Basically making excuses to not run :/

Wednesday, Jan. 6: 5 miles easy. Feeling like out of shape and chubby. So much eating and drinking and not running for 5 days will do that to you.

Thursday, Jan. 7: 4.2 miles easy with Nic

Friday, Jan. 8: 8 miles. The runย felt harder than the pace was.

Saturday, Jan. 9: 5 miles easy

Sunday, Jan 10: 10 miles – I felt out of it the first half, but last half felt great.

Total: 32 miles – I was freaking out at this point in my training. By taking 5 full days off this close to the race, I thought I had blown everything. I was so upset and kept telling myself that it was OK, and that’s life. This won’t be the last half marathon I’ll run and I wouldn’t take back my trip at all. Running is all about having fun, not stressing about what could have been. So I just kept on going through the training as normal.

Running along the coast in Carlsbad
Kara and me after our run before the Half. Love this girl!

Week 12 training:ย 

Monday, Jan. 11: Rest Day – My legs feel strong still, but my body feels heavy. I feel like I’m carrying extra weight.

Tuesday, Jan. 12: 6 miles – felt like crap and lethargic.

Wednesday, Jan. 13: 5 miles – notched down the paces to under 7 min pace. So my speed is still there, but I feel heavy still.

Thursday, Jan. 14: 8 miles – Finally feeling back to normal.

Friday, Jan. 15: 5 easy miles – Feeling really tired, aaah two days away! Scary.

Saturday, Jan. 16: 5 miles with Kara! I got to see my friend from college. I am so glad we reconnected!

Sunday, Jan. 17: The Carlsbad Half Marathon! I ran 1:27:25! I couldn’t believe it. My goal was to go under 1:30 and I did it, even with the mini vacay. I know I could have probably gone faster if I hadn’t taken a dent in my training, but I am still very proud of what I accomplished. Here are my splits: 6:49, 6:33, 6:41, 6:30, 6:37, 6:24, 6:38, 6:26, 6:27, 6:36, 6:44, 6:55, 6:38. 2 mile warm up and 1 mile cool down. I was 76th overall and 16th female. This was a great experience and I’m going after 1:25!

Total: 45 miles

Carlsbad Half Marathon
Erin, Melanie and me after the Carlsbad Half Marathon. This was the crew that did the AFC Half in August.
Leave a Reply

